EverCrest Message Forums
You are not logged in. Login or Register.
Author
Topic: Does anyone here play guitar?
Gadani
U
posted 03-07-2006 12:53:40 AM
I want to start playing and I want to know a good way to begin learning.

Any help would be appreciated.

Gadani fucked around with this message on 03-07-2006 at 12:54 AM.

Sean
posted 03-07-2006 12:56:03 AM
Stars in his eyes.
A Kansas City Shuffle is when everybody looks right, you go left.

It's not something people hear about.

Kegwen
Sonyfag
posted 03-07-2006 12:56:44 AM
please god get a teacher
Gadani
U
posted 03-07-2006 12:57:20 AM
why
Kegwen
Sonyfag
posted 03-07-2006 01:14:58 AM
I could get my friend who is training to teach to expound upon it, but from what I understand the big benefits of getting a teacher vs self-taught are:

actually learning all the theory
having solid technique (this is more important than you might think)
good/appropriate pacing
more motivation to keep up the practice during the week (getting your moneys worth for the lessons)
etc

nem-x
posted 03-07-2006 01:17:02 AM
Learn the basics on your own first, then go to a teacher.
Kaglaaz How'ler
Pancake
posted 03-07-2006 01:23:38 AM
The questions you need to ask yourself are:

1: What style of music / guitar playing?

2: What can I afford for lessons/ equipment?

There's the basic's of guitar that every guitar player needs if you're going to just play an electric or accoustic guitar, Check with your local musical instrument store to find out who the local instructors are and then ask around to find out who is a quality teacher.