EverCrest Message Forums
You are not logged in. Login or Register.
Author
Topic: I gotta get this off my chest...
Ryuujin
posted 08-02-2004 02:19:54 AM
(Don't read if you have a weak stomach. I consider my stomach hardened yet I almost threw up because of the conditions surrounding this situation).

As some of you may know, I'm an Animal Control Officer (not an offical sworn one, but that just means I can give people tickets). For the most part the job is fine. Someone's dog running loose? Threaten to fine them $50. Someone got bit? Fill out a bite report and quarantine the animal for 10 days...

But sometimes you encounter real sickos in this job, like I had too today. Around 5:30pm I get a call from my brother who is over at his friend's house across the road about a stray dog who is pretty bad off. "No problem." I think, probably just skinny and flea-bitten. Boy was I wrong.

When I pulled up and got out of the car, I could tell immediately something wasn't right with this dog. As I got closer, my stomach lurched at what I saw. The dog's collar had been on so tight, that over time, had torn away the fur, skin (epidermis and dermis, and had dug into the flesh of the dog's neck, leaving an open, bloody wound across the back of his neck.

As if that weren't bad enough, I come to find out from my brother and his friend that they saw a green Ford pickup toss the dog out, abandoning it, and speeding off. Well by this time I had a mixture of emotions, ranging from pity, disgust, rage, and misanthropy.