EverCrest Message Forums
You are not logged in. Login or Register.
Author
Topic: SportClips sucks
Maradon!
posted 02-12-2011 04:21:43 PM
So I really wanted a different hairstyle from my usual "crewcut and slightly less crewcut on top" and I've been growing this shit out for about six months in preparation.

SportClips listed "Consultation and a Precision Haircut by a Guy-Smart Stylist" as among their services, which sounded promising, so I drive a half hour out to Monroeville to the only one nearby.

Imagine my dismay when I get out there and the place is staffed with the same all-female high school age kids that cut my hair at the ten dollar place. As usual, the "stylist" expected me to know how I wanted my hair cut and didn't really have any suggestions of her own to offer. Now, the definition of what it is to style hair seems, to me, to include coming up with the style. If you can't do that, are you really a stylist? Or are you just a hair cutter?

My hair cutter and I worked out a solution that could be creatively described as "what-I-had-only-slightly-shorter" and called it done. They were offering an upgrade to the MVP Package for free for your first visit, which included a hot towel, massage, and leave-in conditioner. If it were an actual massage conducted by a professional, I'd be down, but since it was someone's bored homecoming date holding a vibrator against my trapezius, I politely declined.

And after all this, the cost was still about 60% more than I pay at my usual place. I tipped 30% cause it wasn't my hair cutter's fault that her company made promises that it had no intention of properly keeping.

So, how exactly does a guy ask for a professional hair cut without being perceived as a homosexual for doing so?

Maradon! fucked around with this message on 02-12-2011 at 04:26 PM.

Kegwen
Sonyfag
posted 02-12-2011 05:00:42 PM
I just go to the same salon as my sister. It's the price you pay for not having a generic guy cut.
Vin~
Crack Dealer