EverCrest Message Forums
You are not logged in. Login or Register.
Author
Topic: Computer cases
Kermitov 2
Pancake
posted 03-22-2009 03:27:06 PM
So, I've been keeping this system going for a few months now and little by little it's beginning to fail. I built the current system 5 or 6 years ago, but the case is around 10 years old, the power supply failed at some point last year and I bought a cheap-o one to keep it going for a while. It's time to upgrade... and since nearly everything has changed since then I'll be building everything new again.

I pretty much have everything picked out, the one thing that's bothering me is the case.

I don't overclock.

I'm not a hardcore gamer but I do enjoy gaming sometimes so I'll be putting in a nice video card and stuff like that.

I don't need something that looks like a weapons storage locker.

I don't want 22 inch spinnaz with underbody neons and Vtec yo... er... I mean giant ridiculous cooling fans. I don't really mind if the fans have LED's in them but nothing crazy.

I'd rather it be ultra quiet than look "gangsta." The computer is in my room so the quieter the better.

I do use aftermarket heatsinks and cooling fans, I like my stuff to last a long time because I usually don't have much money to spend on computer parts. Factory heatsinks are usually barely adequate.

I want a case that is easy to clean... the case I have is kind of a pain in the ass, at the time I didn't seem to mind but now... all the ridges and gaps and shit in the front of it just collect dust.

Front cover plugs for headphones and stuff like that would be nice, but aren't specifically necessary.

Last but not least, I want something that will last.

Price is not a real big issue, I'd rather pay more for the perfect case.... within reason of course.

So what's the opinion of the locals?

Dr. Gee
Say it Loud, Say it Plowed!
posted 03-22-2009 04:05:20 PM
I love my Antec P180.

They also come in some other flavors:

Mini-Tower