EverCrest Message Forums
You are not logged in. Login or Register.
Author
Topic: OK, so, yeah.
Gydyon
Yes, I am a lawyer. No you can't sue them for that. Shut up, or I'll have your legs broken.
posted 12-09-2004 01:49:21 PM
I spent my $500 clams on a new chip (3.0 Intel P4), mobo (Intel PERLL), RAM (2x512 PC3200), and case (Raidmax with three fans and a 420W PS). Everything else in my old system I am keeping because it's more or less state of the art (video card will need an upgrade but I am holding out a bit longer).

(If you're dying to know here's what I am getting -- case, memory, mobo, and processor.)

Everything should be arriving on Monday or Tuesday (my big online poker nights, but what are you gonna do). I plan to put them together when they arrive. I have not constructed a system since 1994 or so (although I have added numerous componenets over the years, especially in my 2001 Dell I am replacing).

Are there any big issues I should be preparing for in the installation process that won't be intuitive or printed in the instructions that will come with the components? Since I won't be overclocking, will the standard heatsink/fan plus the three fans in the case be sufficient for cooling? Are there any tools I should have other than a screwdriver that I might not anticipate needing?

Gydyon
Evercrest Lawyer

Thinking about your posts
(and billing you for it) since 2001

Mortious
Gluttonous Overlard
posted 12-09-2004 01:52:12 PM
Not bad for $500, not bad at all.

The retail fan will be perfectly fine as long as you don't overclock.

Blindy.
Suicide (Also: Gay.)
posted 12-09-2004 01:58:03 PM
quote:
Mortious got all f'ed up on Angel Dust and wrote:
The retail fan will be perfectly fine as long as you don't even if you overclock.

The OEM intel cooler is pretty good. If you don't go more than .250 over stock voltage you'll be fine.

Gydyon
Yes, I am a lawyer. No you can't sue them for that. Shut up, or I'll have your legs broken.
posted 12-09-2004 02:09:14 PM