EverCrest Message Forums
You are not logged in. Login or Register.
Author
Topic: hard drive question
Xyless
Pancake
posted 09-15-2004 12:52:55 PM
I really need to wipe my hard drive before my next reformat but i've never done this before and i'm not sure how. I believe someone told me that I require some program so a link to this would be very helpful. Also, after the wipe is it easy to install windows or do I really need to know what i'm doing?
Sakkra
Office Linebacker
posted 09-15-2004 01:14:53 PM
quote:
Xyless wrote this stupid crap:
I really need to wipe my hard drive before my next reformat but i've never done this before and i'm not sure how. I believe someone told me that I require some program so a link to this would be very helpful. Also, after the wipe is it easy to install windows or do I really need to know what i'm doing?

Are you looking to just wipe everything out, or back up your stuff before reformating? If it's the former, I don't believe you need to do anything, as it's all lost when you reformat.

Alaan
posted 09-15-2004 01:17:52 PM
quote:
Sakkra stumbled drunkenly to the keyboard and typed:
Are you looking to just wipe everything out, or back up your stuff before reformating? If it's the former, I don't believe you need to do anything, as it's all lost when you reformat.

I think he is using the term "reformat" as a new installation of Windows instead of whiping the drive clean. Though I could be wrong. And if memory serves when you do the XP install the option of formatting your drive is right there. And installing windows is easy.

Alaan fucked around with this message on 09-15-2004 at 01:18 PM.

Snugglits
I LIKE TO ABUSE THE ALERT MOD BUTTON AND I ENJOY THE FLAVOR OF SWEET SWEET COCK.
posted 09-15-2004 01:36:24 PM
Just put the CD into your computer as you're shutting it down. Start it back up, tell it to boot from CD, and follow the instructions.

I wonder if you could find this on Google...

[b].sig removed by Mr. Parcelan[/b]
Xyless
Pancake