EverCrest Message Forums
You are not logged in. Login or Register.
Author
Topic: Question
Gydyon
Yes, I am a lawyer. No you can't sue them for that. Shut up, or I'll have your legs broken.
posted 12-05-2003 11:16:33 AM
I have a Dell Dimension desktop I bought in early 2001. I have upgraded a few times:

P4 1.7 mhz
766 megs RAM (it uses that Rambus crap)
Decent DVD-ROM
Good CD burner
Topline GEForce4 (rather than FX), 128 megs RAM (or maybe 256, frankly I can't remember)
Pinnacle DV500 Video Capture Card
Optical Mouse, Ordinary Keyboard
Simple Speakers and Sound Blaster Card
80 Gig hard drive (but I don't store music and delete my video files when I finish them, so that's been enough space).
Microsoft Office XP
Microfoft Windows XP

Now I don't do much gaming on the machine any more, but I am wondering how much longer until this bad boy becomes obsolete, and which parts will go first. Is processor speed really crucial, or will I survive? I don't need to have state of the art, and KOTOR runs fine, as I learned last night. I'm going to be a "three games a year maybe" guy from now on, so just tell me where my weak points are. If you need to ask additional questions, I will try and answer them. Thanks.

Gydyon
Evercrest Lawyer

Thinking about your posts
(and billing you for it) since 2001

Blindy.
Suicide (Also: Gay.)
posted 12-05-2003 11:19:26 AM
honestly that's still a pretty snappy computer.
You might want to upgrade the video card at some point next year but nothing really needs upgrading right now. I'd say you're going to be good on new games until end of 2004 or so at the earliest.
Gydyon
Yes, I am a lawyer. No you can't sue them for that. Shut up, or I'll have your legs broken.
posted 12-05-2003 11:21:26 AM
quote:
Blindy Claus had this to say about Tron:
honestly that's still a pretty snappy computer.