EverCrest Message Forums
You are not logged in. Login or Register.
Author
Topic: Analytical Reasoning
Number 1 Poster
posted 11-05-2011 03:55:06 PM
I am having a very difficult time understanding the reasoning in a particular question and the book I am studying from is (I think) contradicting itself with the explanation of the answer. I am not in school so I don't have a teacher to ask, I am just preparing for an upcoming entry test and this portion of it is the most difficult for me to grasp.

quote:

A landscape designer wishes to use roses of different colours in a large planter. Seven colours of roses are available for selection: lavender, orange, pink, red, tan, white, and yellow. Only certain colour combinations will be used based on the following conditions:

If lavender is used, then so is tan.
If red is used, then yellow is not used.
If orange, tan, or both are used, then so is red.
If pink is not used, then neither is lavender.
If white is not used, then yellow is used.

So I've set it up as the following in my notebook

code:

Used Not
L --> T
R--------------> Y
O/T --> R
P --> L
Y <------------- W

The question is, "If Tan is not used, which one of the following must be true?"
(A) Pink is not used
(B) Either lavender or red is used
(C) Orange and red are the only two colours used.
(D) Either white or yellow or both are used
(E) Both red and yellow are used

The answer is (D). If T is not used, then L is not used. Since L is not used, P may or may not be used; therefore, answer (A) is incorrect. Since R may or may not be used, answer (B) is incorrect. Since R does not have to be used, answers (C) and (E) are incorrect. It is not possible for both W and Y not to be used; therefore, answer (D) is correct.